Monday, 7 January 2013

Maybelline Color Tattoo 24HR Cream Gel Shadows –now in Singapore!

While I was out and about last weekend in Singapore, I spotted Maybelline’s Color Tattoo 24HR Cream Gel Shadows – finally, the wait is over! There have been rave reviews about these online, so it’s nice to know they’ve finally hit the sunny little island (translated – within easy reach!)

There are a total of 8 colours available – Bad to the Bronze, Fierce & Tangy, Painted Purple, Tough as Taupe, Tenacious Teal, Edgy Emerald, Bold Gold and Audacious Asphalt.

I was messing about with the testers at BHG, and so far Bad to the Bronze seems to be my favourite out of the lot, with Audacious Asphalt coming in a close second. I’ve seen them available at BHG, Guardian and Swanston so far, so they shouldn’t be difficult to hunt down. They’re going for SG$15.90 each if I remember correctly, although you can get them for SG$12.95 at Swanston.


PS: A very belated Merry Christmas and Happy New Year! Can’t believe we’re already into the second week of January, and I’m still editing photos from November (super fail, this one). First and foremost resolution for 2013 – get back to some semblance of regular posting! :)

Labels: , , , ,

Thursday, 2 August 2012

I want candy with the new L’Oreal Miss Candy Collection!

The latest collection from L’Oreal is finally here! :D As of first August, all major personal care and department stores will be carrying the L’Oreal Miss Candy Collection which is, well, carrying a whole range of candy-coloured hues!

For those who went all aflutter over the entry of L’Oreal’s Infallibles into the Singapore market back in April (link here for those who missed it!), you’ll be squealing with delight because…

There are three new Infallibles in this collection! We have Sassy Marshmallow, Naughty Strawberry and Innocent Turquoise (SG$14.90 each) – and they’re multicoloured too. In this case, I had to use a stock photo since the multicolour effect didn’t show up in the photos I was trying to sneak-snap at the store. :P 

Mind you, when looking at them up close, the Naughty Strawberry actually looks rather reddish in real life than the goldish-purple you see in the stock photo, while Sassy Marshmallow has a strong silvery base. Innocent Turquoise on the other hand, is a very pretty (but light) gold-green. You've been warned!

Not forgetting your lips, there are also four swirled lipglosses in this collection: (L-R) Miss Orange, Miss Raspberry, Miss Apricot and Miss Marshmallow (SG$15.90 each) that come with a heart-shaped applicator.

Personally, I'm liking the look of Sassy Marshmallow...I reckon it would look pretty good layered over a black/ dark blue eyeliner with a swipe of Miss Marshmallow on the lips. Thoughts? :D

Do note though, that the Miss Candy Collection is limited edition, and will only be available in August and September. There were full shelves when I checked yesterday, so it’s a good time to hit up the shops if you want first dibs on them! :)

Labels: , , , ,

Friday, 30 March 2012

The Sleek Original i-Divine Palette is oh so divine!...

When it comes to wearing eyeshadow, I’m usually the finickiest person around – anything too gritty, too powdery, too difficult to apply, etc gets relegated to the back of the drawer almost immediately. However, enter the Sleek Original i-Divine palette which I got as a Christmas present from some loverly ladies *wink* – and despite initial reservations, I’m quite in love with this baby!

Sleek Original i-Divine Palette
Description:
The Original i-Divine palette contains a variety of highly-pigmented colours, ranging from green to purple, allowing you to create endless looks fit for day or night. The velvet-touch consistency gives full and shimmering coverage to the eye lid for maximum effect. Each of the 12 shades can be applied alone for a dramatic effect or mixed to create a personalised look.

Sleek Original i-Divine Palette
When I first opened it up, the colours were breathtaking – this palette doesn’t pull any punches when it comes to colour! I was a bit alarmed by the powdery flecks scattered throughout the palette but I reckon it was just due to shifting during transport/ shipping.

And here come the swatches:
Sleek Original i-Divine Palette
Sleek Original i-Divine Palette swatches
Gorgeous colours, aren’t they? With the exception of the flat black shade (top left shade or #1) which feels a bit gritty and is the only matte shade in this palette, the rest have great colour payoff and texture. Personally, I do like my colours a bit on the shimmery side so this is right up my alley.

My initial hesitation was not with the texture of the eyeshadow, but rather the hues – knowing me, I’m more of a brown/ nudes/ neutrals sort of person with a strong hue added in (think deep jewel colours like emerald and amethyst) and only ever use multiple bright colours for special occasions, so I was initially hesitant to try a lot of the shades (hel-lo, bright blue? Uh oh…).

However, I’ve found that using my fingers to apply this gives me a more muted look and makes the bright hues easier to blend (although the instructions say the eyeshadow is best applied with the enclosed dual-ended sponge applicator), so now I’ve gotten quite used to it and (god forbid!) am even starting to use brighter colours overall.

Incidentally, the i-Divines have been given a makeover – the outer packaging has been updated and they’re now pressed flat instead of the waffle print you see in these pictures. A bit of a shame really, since I kind of like the waffle print. :D

Sleek Original i-Divine Palette ingredients
Ingredients for those interested

Overall, this is a great palette for those wanting to experiment with colour and want shades that are easy to blend. It's certainly gotten me out of my neutrals comfort zone and who knows, you just might see me with a lot of brighter colours soon?

And on that note, Happy Friday and have a lovely weekend!! :D


The Sleek Original i-Divine palette retails at £6.49 and is available from the Sleek Makeup website. International shipping is available (except to African countries).


Rating: 4 / 5
Value: $$$

Labels: , , ,

Wednesday, 21 September 2011

It’s Mine!! Urban Decay 15th Anniversary Palette…

This can be considered my one major splurge for September… :D

After hankering for the Urban Decay 15th Anniversary Palette for the longest time, I finally decided to get it – only to find out that it had been sold out at Sephora in Singapore (boo!). But thankfully, the lovely Von (half of Belle Demoiselle) came to the rescue and offered to pick one up for me from the Sephora in KLCC.

When we finally met for the first time last Saturday, she had my palette with her (see, who says shopping doesn’t bring people together? Heehee…) and let’s just say I foresee many noisy meet ups coming up! :D

Ta-daaahh!! The package was a lot bigger and heftier than I had expected from photos, but it doesn’t bother me…all the more to enjoy, I say!

I love, love, LOVE the design of the box! I do wish it the smooth metal wasn’t so much of a fingerprint magnet and the edges weren't so sharp, but I’ll overlook that since the velvet box, base and logo on the palette are all in my favourite colour purple.

Price-wise, I also lucked out since the palette was being sold for RM180 in Malaysia, and SG$80 in Singapore so buying it in Malaysia was definitely cheaper! :D

Oh, and if I thought the colours had looked lovely in Paris’ review, I was sadly mistaken – they’re even more gorgeous in real life! *melts* Can’t wait to get stuck into them good and proper…swatches coming up! :D


PS: Haven’t been able to stop staring at the shades since I got the palette…God help me, I may just turn into Gollum and start calling it “myy preeeesshhuuusss”! :O

Labels: , ,

Thursday, 3 March 2011

Spotted: L’Oreal HiP Studio Secrets™ Professional Duos…


I can’t believe the L’Oreal HiP Studio Secrets™ Professional Duos have been in Singapore for quite some time already but I’m only seeing the displays now. Had been on the lookout for these since reading about them end of last year, but the outlets near my place haven’t been big enough to warrant one of these standees.


There are a total of 8 combinations available in Singapore, and I must say they brought in a pretty good selection of colours, although as far as I can tell most are from the Bright Shadows range of colour combinations.

The L’Oreal HiP Studio Secrets™ Professional Duos retail at US$7.99 overseas, but in Singapore they’re going at SG$18.90 each. However, I was told they have Buy One Get One Free (BOGOF) promotions for these every now and then, which make them a lot more value for money. I spotted this at the Watsons outlet in Suntec City if I remember correctly.

I’ve heard some good things about these duos, so will probably pick up a couple the next time I see the BOGOF promotion. :D

Has anyone else tried these out yet, and if you have, what did you think of it? Share your thoughts!

Labels: ,

Wednesday, 2 March 2011

Getting my hands on the Dior Minaudière Eyeshadow and Lip Gloss Palette…


Okay, hands up…how many of you were chomping at the bit to get your hands on the Dior Minaudière Eyeshadow and Lip Gloss Palette above after reading Paris’ post on it? *sheepishly raises hand*

Well as they say, where there’s a will there’s a way…and after hunting high and low online, I came across a site that still had them! It was none other than KrisShop – Singapore Airlines’ duty free shopping site, which I think is going to be a new favourite. They actually allow you to order items online to be collected on your flight, or to be shipped to you. :D

Better yet, shipping was surprisingly affordable…shipping is SG$15 for nett purchases below SG$188 within Singapore (single address), and free for nett purchases above SG$188.

After gleefully poking some friends online (not to mention goading some to get it too!), I placed my order on a Friday evening. The site says shipping would take 7-10 working days, but the very next Monday I got my order waiting on my table. Now that’s efficiency for you!


The items came nicely wrapped in a big KrisShop envelope complete with ribbon. As I’ve said before, presentation is everything! :D


Before you say it, yes I bought an extra Minaudière for a friend (plus another item not shown here) to get the free shipping – and they even threw in some angpow packets and a nice silk pouch in for free since it was just after the CNY period.


So lovingly wrapped in CD printed paper…it’s like Christmas all over again!


Taa-daaahhh!! It’s exactly the same as the one that was brought in to Malaysia and Singapore back in November, and mine was in #002 Ors Roses/ Pink Golds.


The eyeshadows look every bit as lovely in real life as in the pictures I’ve seen, and the heft definitely makes it feel very luxurious. I’ve actually (surprise surprise!) already dug into it, but forgot to take a pic of the finished look so you’ll have to wait a bit for those. :/


I haven’t touched the lipglosses yet though – there’s just something about the sparkliness that makes me just sigh and admire it…does anyone else do that? :p

The best part? The Dior Minaudière was retailing at US$80 in the US, or approximately RM226 in Malaysia…on KrisShop, it was going for SG$83. After adding GST and taxes, it came up to just under SG$89 (approximately RM218). Score!! :D

The Dior Minaudière Eyeshadow and Lip Gloss Palette is from the Limited Edition Holiday 2010 Collection – I purchased mine online at KrisShop, which retails for SG$83.

Labels: , , , ,

Monday, 18 October 2010

International Suit Up Day was LEGEN…wait for it…DARY! :D

International Suit Up Day was last Wednesday on the 13th of October…how many of you suited up? LOL…I meant to post this up last week but it got stuck in my drafts so here it is!


Being so hot and humid in this part of the world, it only makes sense that I went with a sleeveless top (picked it up from Zara during my last trip to London), accessorised with the ‘A Savoy Affair’ necklace from Sweet Contemplation Accessories. With black slacks and minus the blazer, I actually quite like this look. :D

While I’m on the topic of International Suit Up Day, I thought I’d share the eye makeup I did for that day as well…


Although I’m allowed quite a few liberties with the dress code at work, I do prefer more neutral colours since they’re easier to apply on the go and match pretty much everything. I used a L’Oreal Eye palette as well as the Stila Mara Simba duo for this, but any similar colours would do just as well.

And to top it all off, I wasn’t the only person to suit up – my ENTIRE office did! :D So here’s a picture just for kicks…



So, did you suit up, and if you did…share your stories! :D

Labels: , ,

Tuesday, 16 March 2010

Clinique Juiced Up Colour – Spring 2010...

It’s almost the end of the spring season, but you wouldn’t know it looking at the weather outside – it seems like the spring showers are only hitting Singapore and Malaysia now, swinging between torrential showers and blistering heat.

Yesterday after going out for a meeting, I got caught in a torrential downpour that err, was extremely windy and ‘spattery’. That aside though, I still arrived at the office feeling pretty good since my light hand with makeup hadn’t faded!


The products I used were actually from Clinique’s Spring 2010 Juiced Up Colour collection – the All Over Colour in Mixed Berries and Fresh Picked Eyeshadow in Fresh Picked Pear.


Allover Colour in Mixed Berries was one of the items that I could barely bear to ‘defile’ simply because it looks so awesome. I found out though, a good way to force myself to use it was to make it one of the only two blushes in my bag when I came to Singapore – voila! No choice but to start using it... :D


All the three individual colours are pretty on their own – I’ve also found that the lightest shade can be used as a pretty brow highlighter too! Once swirled together they create a nice soft glow (pic below)


I used it together with the Fresh Picked Eyeshadow in Fresh Picked Pear, which is a pale gold and green with a satiny sheen in a super-cute pear pattern. The eyeshadow itself is quite easy to pick up with either fingers or brush, although personally I prefer using my fingers.

However, I found that the colour of the eyeshadow is quite sheer when I use my fingers – using an eyeshadow brush works better if you like more intense colour, but I happen to like just a ‘wash’ of colour instead of eye-catching shades...particularly at work!


As you can see from the swatches above, they’re slightly on the sheer side but still quite pretty. Love this for the days I just want a hint of colour without having to fuss too much! :D


This is what I ended up with both Allover Colour and Fresh Picked Eyeshadow applied – apologies if it’s not really clear in the picture, but the lighting in my office doesn’t make for very good photos. :s Mind you, this was after surviving through a downpour, so I reckon it’s not too bad. Your thoughts?


Clinique Fresh Picked Allover Colour (RM115) and Fresh Picked Eye Shadow (RM75) are both limited edition items and part of the Clinique Juiced Up Colour – Spring 2010 collection, now available at all Clinique counters.

Labels: , , , , ,

Friday, 29 January 2010

Clinique Juiced Up Colour – Spring 2010…


Clinique’s latest Spring 2010 collection – Juiced Up Colour is looking pretty yummy to me at the moment! :D Late last year I tried out the Vitamin C Lip Smoothie Antioxidant Lip Colour which I loved for giving me lip-smacking ermm…lips! I dunno about you, but that had me just waiting for the rest of the Spring collection which I knew was going to be fruit-inspired.


And what a collection of fruit – damn the textured palettes! They look so pretty it’s going to be a real challenge bringing myself to desecrate the surface…*howls*…but all for the sake of beauty, eh?


One of the centerpieces of this collection is the limited edition Fresh Picked Allover Colour which has a lovely berry pattern pressed into the three soft shimmer shades. It’s absolutely gorgeous in real life and looks good enough to eat. :p (you'll see why in a bit!)


The other centerpiece is none other than the limited edition Fresh Picked Eye Shadow – seen here in Fresh Picked Berry. The other shade, Fresh Picked Pear has green-pale gold shades (which you can see below).


Clinique has also added a new Lash Power Volumising Mascara to its mascara portfolio in Black Onyx (seen in the main product picture above). As for me, I’m currently trying out the Fresh Picked Allover Colour in Mixed Berries and Fresh Picked Eye Shadow in Fresh Picked Pear from the Juiced Up Collection – will be back soon with my thoughts on the individual products once I’m through testing them, but for now I’d say they definitely warrant a closer look if you pass a Clinique counter. :)

Have you seen these yet, or tried them out? Let me know what you think, and have a brilliant weekend!


Clinique Juiced Up Colour – Spring 2010:
Fresh Picked Allover Colour (Limited Edition) – RM115
Fresh Picked Eye Shadow (Limited Edition) – RM75
Vitamin C Lip Smoothie Antioxidant Lip Colour – RM66
Lash Power Volumising Mascara – RM75


Clinique’s Juiced Up Colour – Spring 2010 Collection will be available from February 2010 at all Clinique counters nationwide.

Labels: , , , , , ,

Wednesday, 27 January 2010

I Wanna be a Drama Queen…

Nothing quite like something pretty to stave off the midweek blues…lookie what I got! :D


It’s the Drama Queen Box Office Eye Palette from Stage Cosmetics…to the darling (you know who you are) thank you so much, I loves it! :D


The Drama Queen palette comes with eight pretty shades which also include yellow, bronze, turquoise, purple and baby blue…this should make for some interesting combinations…anyone wanna share their favourite colour combinations that I could possibly try? Hit me up ladies! :)

Labels: , , ,