Friday, 30 October 2009

Weekend Wheels and Deals…

Another week has gone by…and just like that, October is almost over! :O Gosh, where are the days going to? That aside though, here are this week’s Wheels and Deals for those of you wandering around town this weekend… :D

Smashbox Cosmetics has reached Malaysia – there is now a counter at Parkson Pavilion which is quite large and is quite well stocked. I haven’t tried any of their products yet, but I hear their primer is supposed to be pretty good. :)

MAC has launched its Holiday Collection for 2009 titled ‘Magic, Mirth and Mischief’ – one of the earliest I’ve seen so far. Has anyone tried out this collection yet, and if you have what are your thoughts? Share share! :D

Clarins will be running their “We Care” CSR campaign from 1 November to 31 December 2009 with two main objectives of preserving the environment and helping less fortunate children. To do this, Clarins has created the Clarins We Care 2009 microsite ( where you can make a green pledge on how and what you would do to help save the rainforest. There is also an added bonus to this – the best 20 pledges submitted will each receive a RM100 Clarins hamper.

Clarins has also created special water tumblers with a nature motif to promote the importance of the 3Rs (Reduce, Reuse, Recycle). The proceeds from the sale of these tumblers will be channeled towards helping four children’s charities in Malaysia, namely Agathians Shelter (PJ), Persatuan Anak-anak Yatim & Ibu Tunggal Kg Medan (PJ), Rumah Kebajikan Kanak-Kanak Rhema (Seremban) and Vinashini Home (Seremban). These tumblers will be sold at RM12 each and will be available at all Clarins counters from 1 November until 31 December.

British India’s Sale will be ending this weekend. I’ve noticed that there are usually additional discounts towards the end of these sales to clear as much stock as possible, so it may be worth going to check it out.

Halloween is upon us, and Bangsar Village has some cool activities planned including a Halloween costume competition as well as cupcake decorating – sounds like fun, no?

This pic was taken at 1 Utama’s new wing area – you can pick up Halloween candy at discounted prices, as well as check out the little stalls set up in the area…and if all else fails, it’s worth going there just to take a pic with the haunted display house (it’s very nicely done!)

And that’s it for this round up! I leave you with a picture taken at a Shu Uemura event a few days back – who do you recognize? :D Couldn’t resist posting this up since it was taken “camwhore” style (not easy fitting five people into the pic, I can tell you - my arm's not that long!) Have a lovely weekend, and Happy Halloween!!

Labels: ,

Thursday, 29 October 2009

Clinique High Impact Lip Colour SPF15…

Earlier this year during a session with Clinique, I’d gotten a High Impact Lip Colour SPF 15 lipstick in Nearly Violet to use. I’m ashamed to say that it went missing for a while thanks to a lot of stuff being shifted around (sorry!), but when I discovered it a couple of months back I was a rather happy puppy (because I prefer puppies to kittens! LOL!)

Clinique High Impact Lip Colour SPF15 is high on colour, long on comfort. Dressed-up colour wears beautifully for 8 hours. And lips enjoy every minute. In highly moisturizing shades that continually smooth, soften, comfort. Protects from UVA/UVB, too.

The Verdict:
Clinique’s High Impact lipstick (shortening the name since it’s way too long!) comes in a solid silver tube that’s got a nice heft to it – no flimsy packaging here! :D There’s a light fragrance to the lippie, but it’s hardly noticeable unless you sniff it up close.

The shade I got was #24 – Nearly Violet which turned out to be a soft warm-toned heather shade with a hint of shimmer that applies at the same colour that you see in the tube. I’ve been wearing it to work for the past few weeks, and it’s becoming one of the shades I use more regularly for the times lipgloss isn’t too appropriate or convenient.

I found that it provides medium coverage for me with one swipe, full with two coats, but is just a tad bit drying on my lips if used without a lipbalm underneath. However, since I usually apply lipbalm underneath my lipstick anyway it’s not much of a bother. I do like the texture of the satiny finish though, since after that I can’t help but rub my lips together now and then (not advised if you want your lipstick to stay put, but hey, I’m funny in that way). I liked the fact that it also contains SPF15 – wouldn’t want my lips to age faster than the rest of my face now, nosiree!

As for fading, this is not a lipstick that lasts all day, but when it faded it did so quite evenly, leaving a rosy hint of colour on my lips which went just a little bit further when I slapped on another layer of lipbalm (it was the only thing I had in my bag at the moment since I left the rest in my car on the way to a meeting) – it looked pretty good, this will stay in my “emergency office kit” for now.

Kahani had a different shade of the High Impact Lip Colour – you can check out what she had to say about Magenta Rose here.

Clinique High Impact Lip Colour SPF15 is available in 20 shades and retails at RM66 each.

Rating: 4 / 5
Value: $$


Tuesday, 27 October 2009

What will you be this Halloween? :D

Halloween is fast approaching this Saturday, isn’t it? I always thought Halloween was only celebrated in the US when I was younger – definitely no trick or treating for me as a child, but there seems to be a proliferation of Halloween knick-knacks and outfits hitting every imaginable store these past few weeks (even Carrefour!)

Of course, Halloween would not be complete without its scary/funny/weird outfits, which nowadays isn’t limited to just children and pumpkins – when else can grownups dress like they’re insane and get away with it? LOL!

Personally, I was rather taken by these wigs I saw when I dropped by Paperdoll over the weekend…in such bright colours too! (can double up as a safety reflector too – I’ll probably be visible at 50 metres!)

The wigs are available in fluorescent red (only short bob available), blue and pink (short or long) - the red reminded me of Alias (Jennifer Garner), and the blue reminded my friend of Aqua's Barbie Girl! *ooops*

Hamming it up with Prettybeautiful – see what I mean by grownups gone insane? :p

This is my favourite out of the lot actually – whaddya think? *wink* I reckon if I add a little dominatrix to it with some goth makeup I’ll be ready to go! :D

The wigs normally retail at RM58 each, but have been marked down to a bargain RM39 each, which is pretty good value. They don’t ‘cook’ your scalp either since the cap is well-aerated…no point in having limp stinky hair once you take it out right?

On a side note, what are YOU going to be dressed up as for Halloween? :D

Paperdoll Boutique
Lot L1-43, 1st Floor,
Tropicana City Mall,
Jalan SS20/27,
47400 Petaling Jaya

Labels: , ,

Random Ramblings…

How was everyone’s weekend? I know it’s a bit late, but things were a bit crazy over the weekend… :O If you were wondering, no, I wasn't in Singapore for the Nuffnang awards, but there was plenty to do in KL!(I can't complain my life is boring, that's for sure).This next installment of Random Ramblings covers some “happened to see” things from my recent Singapore trip, another nail accident, initiatives from Bangsar Village for BCA as well as an update on Stage’s BOGOF promotion. Read on for the details…

I think the local ad agencies need to become more creative – just look at the kind of ads Singapore has! This one is a promotional poster for Browhaus…cute or not you tell me?

And as if it wasn’t enough to have the normal, black and men’s pore packs, Biore has now come up with Lamune Soda and Strawberry Frappe variants of their pore packs. Don’t ask me what they’re like though, since I didn’t get any – and at SGD$4.65 each (approx. RM11+), it’s definitely more expensive than the usual variants.

I am seriously going to have to get a nail strengthener, or go for a manicure, or wear gloves all the time from now on! A couple of days ago my nail just decided to shear off from the side – thank goodness this time it was above the nail bed and didn’t cut in, just broke off in one piece…ARRGHH!!

While I was at Bangsar Village on Saturday for Paris’ birthday surprise (more on that later! LOL!) I was looking at some of the initiatives they were having for Breast Cancer Awareness month – I’m not too sure how I want to see this, since a part of the proceeds go to the Breast Cancer Welfare Society…but only a part? Where does the rest go? And why sell things like folders and manicure sets?

Breast Cancer tees (RM15 each) and Breast Cancer Manicure Set (RM10)

Gin & Jacquie Breast Cancer bag (RM18) and Pink folder (RM15)

They had the items on display at the information counter, and admittedly they’re not half bad – still, I don’t think I’ll be forking over RM15 for a pink folder anytime soon.

Further to the Stage Cosmetics Buy One Get One Free (BOGOF) deal I mentioned over the weekend, I was in Tropicana City Mall and popped by to have a look.

The BOGOF sale extends to all the items shown above - Wonderluxe Satin Matte Lipstick, Wonderlust Moisturising Lipstick, Wondergloss High Shine Lipgloss, Eye Liner Pencil, Kohl Pencil, Liquid Eye Liner, Cheek Colour, Nail Colour and Nail Polish Remover. Promotion runs until 1st November 2009. As for me, I’ll be headed back to Stage tomorrow with a couple of friends (hey, sharing is more fun!) to pick up a couple of items…heehee…

Labels: ,

Saturday, 24 October 2009

Prescriptives, La Mer and Clinique for Breast Cancer Awareness Month 2009…

Just when I thought things were cooling down towards the end of October, I come across yet more products to highlight for BCA 2009. Personally, I think this year they’ve had some gorgeous items, as well as a couple of misses…what do you think?

Prescriptives ‘Pink Ribbon’ Palette for Cheeks & Eyes

Prescriptives has come up with a 'Pink Ribbon' Palette for Cheeks & Eyes, which includes four must-have eye colors and two cheek colors to highlight, define and contour for customized looks. Some of you would have heard that Prescriptives is being removed from the market, so this is the last time we’ll be seeing a limited-edition item from them. However, they’re not leaving without a final noble gesture by donating USD$20,000 to the Breast Cancer Research Foundation. The compact retails at USD$48.50 and is available online at Nordstroms.

La Mer Crème de la Mer’s Miracle Broth™

In honour of BCA, La Mer has come up with a pink packaging for its legendary Crème de la Mer Miracle Broth™, and will make a donation of USD$30,000 to The Breast Cancer Research Foundation in connection with October sales of Crème de la Mer in North America. The Crème de la Mer Miracle Broth™ retails at USD$230 or its local equivalent.

Clinique Limited Edition Lipgloss and DDML

Clinique BCA Great Lips, Great Cause is a limited-edition key chain that comes with three mini Long Last Glosswear SPF 15 (Air Kiss, Kissyfit and Whisper) and two charms – a Clinique “C” and Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon. USD$10 from each purchase of Great Lips, Great Cause will be donated to The Breast Cancer Research Foundation in October. Available exclusively at Sephora retailing for USD$19 each.

Clinique has also come up with a limited edition of their Dramatically Different Moisturizing Lotion which comes with a pink bracelet and two charms – a Clinique "C" and Breast Cancer Awareness Pink Ribbon. USD$10 from each Dramatically Different Moisturizing Lotion sold in October will be donated to The Breast Cancer Research Foundation. Retailing at USD$35 for a 200ml bottle.


And the birthday shoutout goes to…

*teeheehee*...wouldn't you like to know what's in store? :D

Friday, 23 October 2009

Weekend Wheels and Deals…

Since it’s Friday, I thought I’d share a couple of deals going on in town in case any of you are antsy for some retail therapy (I know I am, just trying to resist!)

Fashion Fast Forward’s mid-season sale started yesterday at all their outlets, which would be good if you want to pick up a couple of staples for your wardrobe. I particularly like the cut of Dorothy Perkins’ work slacks which usually go down to about RM79. :)

The Buy One Get One Free (BOGOF) deal is back at Stage Cosmetics for selected products – check in store for further details...if I’m not mistaken lipglosses and blushes are included, so go check it out! Promotion runs until 1st November 2009.

Tiamo has some new embellished ballet flats in their stores. For those that want a bit of *bling* on their feet but can’t negotiate heels, this would be a good alternative. And with the launch of this range, there’s also an in-store promotion:

From 16th – 29th October, every shoe purchase is entitled to an additional 10% off costume jewelry and hair accessories. Tiamo outlets can be found in Lot 10 (Ground Floor) and The Gardens Midvalley (1st Floor)

That’s it for this installment! On a side note, ParisB will be celebrating her birthday tomorrow (yup, Saturday!) so why not hop over to her site and show her a little love? :D Enjoy the weekend!

Labels: ,

Thursday, 22 October 2009

What Happens When Bloggers + Roadtrip + Food + Fun…

This happened last weekend…

Need I say more? Dim sum, theme park, Starbucks, strawberries, fresh vegetables, roasted chestnuts…LOL…only problem is, we are an epic fail as photographers – take pictures of everything under the sun, and forget to take group picture…adoi…*smacks head* Nevermind, there’s always next time! :D

Wednesday, 21 October 2009

Singapore Haul (well, sort of!)…

My recent hop down to Singapore wasn’t supposed to be a shopping trip, but I still managed to pick up a few items while I was there…*whoops!*

This was actually bought on Friday morning before I caught the bus to Singapore – Metrojaya was having its 33rd Birthday sales, and this lovely Diane Caroll strapless dress was on sale! I’d been eyeing it for a while, but couldn’t bring myself to get it with the gasp-inducing RM465 price tag…but this time, I paid a grand total of RM39 (70% off and deducting my RM100 Metrojaya card vouchers) Don’t you just LOVE bargains like this??

Anyway, here’s on to the rest of the actual Singapore haul…

Charles & Keith pastel and purple peep-toe wedges…another bargain at 30% off (I think it ended up just under SGD40). I always end up buying from the Charles & Keith stores in Singapore, and never the ones in Malaysia, simply because somehow the styles at the Malaysian outlets don’t appeal to me at all, plus their sales are…err…a bit pathetic to say the least. Better yet, these were very kindly sponsored by *ahem* someone, so that's even better! *wink*

Rubi is a sister brand of Cotton On, which is clearly seen in their minimalist approach to apparel and now shoes and accessories. The bright red flats were SGD14.90 while the belt was SGD10 – not bad, especially since I had been looking for a similar belt (those I’d tried previously had been too chunky, or didn’t fit! *sigh*…diet time!) As for the red flats, what can I say? I wanted a splash of colour! :D

Watsons in Singapore was having a special deal where a whole bunch of their items were going at SGD1.95 each, together with a Buy 10 Get 1 Free promotion. I obviously didn’t hit the 10 item mark, but the Cooling Mist and Hamilton trial size sunscreen caught my eye. Has anyone else tried this before?

Last but not least, I was contacted by a rep from ME! Bath and Montagne Jeunesse last week who offered to send me some of their products. Since I was going to be in Singapore last weekend anyway, I decided to pick up the items from her instead of having her ship it to me. It turned out to be a good thing, since when I met her she passed me a rather heavy bag!

ME! Bath Choco-holic Bath Ice Cream – smells absolutely delish! Can’t wait to try this out… :D

ME! Bath Shower Sherbet in Lavender Lullaby – her choice of products was rather spot on…now how did she know I had a weakness for chocolate and purple? (this one was seriously heavy though – one tub weighs almost half a kilo!)

The stack of Montagne Jeunesse masques were nicely tied up with pink ribbon (for BCA!) and placed in a candy-motif box – very cute! Thanks for the products babe, appreciate it lots! :D

Not bad for just 48 hours in Singapore eh? LOL!

Labels: , ,

ME! Bath & Montagne Jeunesse for Breast Cancer Awareness Month 2009…

The last installment of products in support of Breast Cancer Awareness (BCA) month were mostly available in the US only, but this time around, Malaysian and Singaporean readers will be happy to know ME! Bath and Montagne Jeunesse are also joining the pink rally – and they’re available for your support too!

ME! Bath

For the entire month of October, ME! Bath is donating 10% of all proceeds from ALL of its pink ME! Bath products to help raise funds to support the fight against breast cancer. This includes their Gotta Have It Pomegranate Bath Ice Cream, Lychee Blossom Bath Ice Cream, Strawberry Bath Ice Cream, Sweet Peppermint Bath Ice Cream, Valley of the Roses Bath Ice Cream and Ice Cream Sandwich Pumice Stone, which look and smell good enough to eat! :D

ME! Bath is available in Singapore exclusively at Sephora outlets.

Montagne Jeunesse

Montagne Jeunesse has 100,000 of a Limited Edition Hydrating Gel Masque (RRP £2.99) towards raising £50,000 for Cancer Research UK – 50p from every sale will be donated to this charity. The company also sponsored the recent Masked Pink Ice Ball in aid of Cancer Research UK which took place at the Waldorf Hilton Hotel in London.

The Montagne Jeunesse masques are available in both Malaysia and Singapore at Watsons outlets and other major personal care stores.

Has anyone tried these products, and what did you think of it? Personally, I had a whiff of the ME! Bath products while I was in Singapore and hoo boy, if they didn’t have the warning labels on them, I’d have eaten it already (yes, they smell that good!) Brightly coloured products are always eye-catching, so go have a gander and let me know your thoughts! :D

Labels: , ,

Tuesday, 20 October 2009

Nivea Lip Care Star Fruits Pink Grapefruit…

Hi hi!! Missed me? On my whirlwind weekend down to Singapore to catch up with some friends and escape while my room back home was being painted, I did squeeze in some retail therapy (oops!). I’ll divulge the rest of my purchases later, but I could not resist sharing this one with you first!

Thanks to fellow pink grapefruit lover Kahani, I knew that Nivea Lip Care had the Pink Grapefruit variant of their Star Fruits down south, and promptly picked one up for myself when I spotted it at a pharmacy. Sadly, I paid full price for it, but nevertheless it was still a bargain!

Nivea Lip Care’s innovative caring formula is based on Grape Seed Extract and skin’s own Hydramine for long-lasting natural moisturisation of the lips. Its unique blend of fruity scents and glossy colour makes your lips even more desirable. Nivea Lip Care Star Fruits Pink Grapefruit provides daily moisturising care and contains natural ingredients Almond oil, Jojoba oil and Shea Butter to effectively protect your lips from drying out. The result? Soft fruity lips with a subtle glossy colour.

The Verdict:
When I opened it up, I was immediately sold on the fresh scent that wafted past…and even more so when it touched my lips…*swoon* This baby has a slightly muted scent when brand new, but the grapefruit-ish scent comes up once you use it. In fact, it’s actually remarkably similar to my Daiso Fresh Grapefruit Lipbalm. The colour isn’t much to shout about as it is supposed to give just a hint of colour, but it's still nice and glossy - and I like the MLBB effect! :D

Kahani reckons that the lipcare is very similar in colour and scent to Benefit's Coralista (you can go here for her take) which I’d have to agree with. It looks absolutely gorgeous when mixed with any red tint. For now though, I’m content to wear it on its own and smack my lips!

Nivea Lip Care Star Fruits is available in Strawberry, Cherry and Pink Grapefruit (please note that not all flavours may be available in-country) and retails at approximately SGD4.00 at all major personal care stores.

Rating: 4.5 / 5
Value: $$$

Labels: , ,