Tuesday, 31 March 2009

3M Nexcare Acne Patch...

After hearing the fuss being made about these patches, I decided to try a small 7-pc pack out for myself to see if the claims were true – according to many, they are ‘miracle workers’ when it comes to taking care of acne. I had a terrible outbreak of pimples at one point recently...the horrible deep set ones that hurt when touched!

This product was originally a medical dressing with 3M patented Tegasorb to absorb wound pus when nurses in Taiwan experimented cutting them into small pieces to place on their acne. The birth of yet another 3M innovative product: Nexcare Acne Patch. To use, clean and dry skin and hands thoroughly, remove acne patch from the film and place gently on the acne.

The Verdict:
When I first opened up the pack, I found a sealed pack containing seven translucent yellowish silicone discs in two different sizes. I decided to try the smaller disc on a big yellow pimple on my temple that was really irritated, and applied it just before I went to bed. In the morning, lo and behold, check out the patch!

The whitish part is the pus - ewwww...but it really works! The pimple was almost fully frained, and the redness was dramatically reduced. I’ve since found that if you can handle it, pricking the pimple just before you apply the patch will help the pus to be absorbed faster. Of course, don’t squeeze it or touch the area more often than is absolutely necessary as that will aggravate the problem.

Nexcare can apparently be used on nodules (sub-cutaneous painful red bumps), whiteheads (the whitish bumps, although I wouldn’t say it’s a good use of the patch!) and pustules (the gross pus-filled ones). I’ve found that for me, it works best on ripe pimples – namely the pustules. That way, you only require minimal application of the patch to clear it up.

I’d definitely turn to this again the next time I have any ripe pimples – this is the perfect solution for those who have itchy fingers (like me!) since it’ll stop me from picking at or squeezing them. And if it can help minimise the post-pimple scarring, I’m all for it!

3M Nexcare patches are available in 7, 14 or 36 piece packs and can be found at Watsons outlets. If I’m not mistaken, the 7-pc pack retails for about RM4, while the 36-pc pack retails at about RM12.

Rating: 4.5 / 5
Value: $$$


Saturday, 28 March 2009

inuovi Fake Lashes...

I dunno about the rest of you ladies, but up till today applying false lashes was something that I could not do by myself – the last few times I had falsies on, they were applied by other people! That’s a thing of the past now, seeing as the trainer from inuovi, Bob, stood up to the challenge of showing me how to apply my own false eyelashes.

He suggested that I try out inuovi’s ProLash lashes, which are designed to naturally enhance eyelashes. The synthetic nylon fibres have a more curved contour which is supposed to fit Asian eyes better. After trying on the lashes, I really have to agree...after all, I did make a wager with Bob – if he could really teach me how to apply falsies on my own, I’d buy the inuovi lashes. Quite fair, right?

Since I was starting out as a novice, he suggested #05 – a 2-pair set of three quarter length lashes. These are slightly shorter than the full length ones which makes application easier to manage for novices.

After curling my existing lashes and applying mascara (for this time, I decided to omit the mascara), the directions were the same as any application of false eyelashes – although his suggestion for glue application was slightly different. While I would have ordinarily used the tube to apply directly to the lash spine, he suggested squeezing out some glue onto my hand, and then sliding the lash spine through it for a more even application of glue.

After the glue has become tacky (if you’re applying it on yourself, then I suppose you can gently blow on it to speed up the gummy process...not a good idea if you’re applying it on someone else!) align the spine with your original lash line and gently press to fix in place. This should be placed as close to the lash line as possible to ensure a natural look.

And...voila! Done all by my lonesome! And it didn’t take me an hour to do it either...previously, I had tried (in vain) to apply false lashes on my own – I’d tried the cheap lashes from Elianto which I couldn’t get to align properly no matter how I tried, and not even the expensive ones from Shu Uemura could stay on...one end always ended up flicking up.

The inuovi lashes though? Apart from some minimal adjustment during the first couple of minutes and getting used to the fluttering of my new lashes, I had no problems. The lashes also held fast for the rest of the day – these will only come off when you’re ready to take them off.

I added on some eyeliner (their Sparkle Liner in Glamour Puss is a gorgeous turquoise-green, and looks great layered on with the black Sparkle Liner, Film Noir) – when I got back later in the evening, I could not resist taking a pic to share with you all...

Barring the lack of sleep, what do you guys think? LOL...needless to say, Bob won the wager and I ended up grabbing a couple of pairs of falsies from the inuovi store at Sunway Pyramid. The prices of the lashes are pretty decent too – the basic lashes are retailing for RM20 each, while the extreme designs retail for RM30. Each set comes with a tube of glue as well, so you’re set for 8-10 uses.

Inuovi is also currently having a 40% discount off all items in-store which will be ending tomorrow (29 March 2009). With the discount, the lashes are down to only RM12 and RM18 respectively – a total steal for the quality.

Rating: 5 / 5
Value: $$$


Wednesday, 25 March 2009

Garnier Ambre Solaire After Sun Skin Soother Hydrating Milk....

It never fails to amaze me how our weather can be so erratic – the past few days have been nothing short of rainy and WET, but just a few weeks ago, it was absolutely scorching! While I was attending an outdoor activity, I did unfortunately get rather cooked despite full strength sunblock and trying to stay in the shade as much as possible.

When I got back, my skin was seriously suffering and looking rather sad and ‘peely’ (really bad, I know) but it did lead to me digging out a bottle of Garnier’s Ambre Solaire After Sun Skin Soother Hydrating Milk to calm my skin down.

Garnier Ambre Solaire After Sun Skin Soother Hydrating Milk contains a soothing agent to instantly relieve sensations of tightness caused by sun exposure. Enriched with cactus extract and hydrating agents, it helps lock in moisture and rehydrate the skin. As a result, skin is able to regain its natural moisture levels and is left soft, supple and hydrated for up to 12 hours. Apply daily onto clean skin after sun exposure. Non-sticky, non-greasy and extremely comfortable, this soothing, hydrating milk is instantly absorbed by the skin, leaving it lightly perfumed.

The Verdict:
Admittedly, I was drawn to the iridescent greeny blue of the bottle, plus the fact that it offered long-term hydration and cooling, but once I opened it the smell was also quite intriguing – until now, I can’t pin it down to one particular smell, but the closest I can describe it is...pina colada! Somewhat like pineapple with a hint of coconut...definitely very beach-ey. But I’ll be damned if I don’t end up dreaming of the beach everytime I smell this!

As far as the texture goes, it really does fit the description of a hydrating milk. It’s quite runny and literally dribbles out of the nozzle – I have to clean off the top each time after I use it. The watery texture also means that it’s really easy to apply, although I have to be quite careful not to get it on my clothes or have it drip...the spill factor is also quite high, so I’m not sure whether I would feel comfortable packing this to go on holiday at the risk of it spilling in my bag.

Besides the wonderful smell, this hydrating milk did provide some immediate skin relief. I have a really low tolerance for anything sticky on my skin, so this passes the stick test. The absorption rate of the hydrating milk is also pretty fast which is good.

However, it doesn’t quite deliver on its 12-hour hydration promise. After using it for over a week, the moisturising factor only lasts for about half the promised time. Not too bad, but they shouldn’t have made claims they couldn’t back up. I probably would get this again since it DOES smell really nice, but it just goes to show that you can’t really believe everything you read about a product.

Garnier Ambre Solaire After Sun Skin Soother Hydrating Milk comes in a 200ml bottle and is available at all major pharmacies and supermarkets.

Rating: 3.5 / 5
Value: $$


Monday, 23 March 2009

My Lipgloss Addiction...

While doing the last tag, I realised that my lipgloss collection has been growing some since I came back from Australia. They’re all over my room, car, desk, bag(s)...when I scrabbled through the various ones I had in my makeup cases, I managed to find TWENTY EIGHT glosses...and that’s not even counting those at my office, in my bag, my car – or lipbalms and lipsticks for that matter (but that will be a post for another time!)

For now, I thought I’d just share the basic collection with you...enjoy! :) I’m starting off with the ‘tubes’ first...

1. Clinique Colour Surge Impossibly Glossy Gloss in Azalea
2. MAC Lip Gelee in Jellicious
3. Boots Caribbean Cocktail Bite the Berry Lip Gloss in Raspberry & Strawberry
4. Maybelline Shinylicious Duos in Two to Tango Mango
5. The Body Shop Lip Bloom
6. Estee Lauder Pure Pops Brush-On Colour in Sugar Pie
7. Silkygirl Juicy Fruity Brush-On Gloss in Juicy Glitter
8. Lancome Juicy Tubes in Prune
9. Maybelline Fruity Jelly lipgloss in Flamengo Rose
10. Lancome Juicy Tubes in Fraise

These are my staples – the stick glosses are my favourite design to carry around, simply because they’re so slim and are so easy to slip into my bag.

11. Silk Naturals Private Reserve Lip Gloss in Summer Fling
12. NYX Diamond Sparkle Lipgloss in Red Sparkle
13. Stage Wondergloss lipgloss in Helen
14. Paul & Joe Lip Gloss in Bonbon Acidule
15. Stila It Gloss in Inviting
16. NYX Girls Gloss in Golden Prune
17. The Body Shop Lip & Cheek Stain in #02
18. Lancome Color Fever Gloss in Fuschia Koh Lan
19. Revlon Superlustrous Lipgloss in Glossy Rose
20. Models Prefer Lipgloss

Last but definitely not least are the potted and random kinds that don’t quite fit into the two categories above. I have a thing for palettes...they’re probably the best way to try out various shades, not to mention the mix and match options are virtually limitless!

21. L’Oreal Le Gloss Shimmering Lip Gloss in Toffee Melt
22. The Body Shop Lip Gloss pot (the label peeled off and I can’t remember what the name of the shade was, but it’s a lovely red stain)
23. Rolly Lip Smacker in Coca Cola
24. Revlon Shiny Sheers in Sheer Plumdrop
25. The Body Shop Lip Click
26. MAC Novel Twist in 3 Plum Lips (Scribbles, New York Apple and Dark Side)
27. Revlon Mix & Mingle lip palette in Chatty Cherry
28. Origins Libra Lips Lip Duo in Autumn Foliage

And there you have it. I’ve included links to the ones I’ve done reviews on, but if you’d like me to review any one of the others in particular, do let me know and I’ll be happy to oblige. :) My absolute favourites? Those would be the ones that I have multiple shades of...and the kind you seem to always see me using. It’s not because I haven’t finished a tube after so long, but rather because I loved it so much I bought a replacement once it ran out...LOL...

What’s the lipgloss you absolutely have to have? I’m always on the lookout for new glosses, so give me a few ideas for my next lipgloss!

Labels: ,

Sunday, 22 March 2009

Ins and Outs...

Tine tagged me on what my 5 ins and outs are at the moment. Well, she did say what I consider in and out, and not particularly mainstream...so this is purely my personal view k?

What’s In for Me:

1. Lipgloss – I love love LOVE my lipglosses, and as you can imagine, I have quite a few (this is just part of it, by the way). I think I need to join Lipglosses Anonymous...is there such a thing?

2. Radley – what’s a girl without her bags? I knew I was in trouble when the Robinsons in Gardens Midvalley set up their display of Radley bags...gorgeous soft leather, and a terrier as their trademark. Temptation was never so hard to resist!

3. Curvier stars – Beyonce Knowles and America Ferrera are hot property nowadays, and both are a refreshing change from the usual whippets we see in the industry. Beautiful, curvy and smart...now that’s a good role model.

4. Purple eyeshadow – one of my absolute favourite colours, and fortunately, one of the colours I can carry off quite well. I’ve also just discovered a gorgeous eyeliner in plum which is also going into my arsenal...LOL!

5. Malaysia participating in Earth Hour – it’s about high time we do our part, so for those in Malaysia...you know what you’re supposed to be doing this coming Saturday yeah?

What’s Out for Me:

1. MAC's Collections – I’m sure I’m going to get blasted for this, but there’s a good reason this is on my list. First it was MAC Barbie, then MAC Dame Edna, and now the dominatrix-looking feline that seriously bordered on the brink of giving me nightmares when I saw the promotion setup. What’s with all the tie-ups? And at the prices they’re going for here, I may just choke myself or have a heart attack.

2. Overdoing it – it’s true what they say...money can buy the most expensive makeup and clothing in the world, but nothing in the world can help you if you’re going to heap it all on at once!

3. Pastels – don’t get me wrong, pastel makeup is gorgeous...but I’ll be damned if it doesn’t make me look washed out and sallow. Oh, and matte pastel nail polish? Don’t even go there...

4. Unstable Internet – what is up with the Internet connection nowadays? It keeps dropping, or the speed is ridiculously SLOW! Get with it, ISPs!

5. Carrot jeans – how does anyone make that cut of jeans look good? If you don’t have hips, they make you look disproportionate and if you DO have hips...oh dear...

And … that’s it! Here are my taggies…

ParisB of MyWomenStuff
Kahani and Syen of So Loverly
Nikki of Askmewhats
Connie of Skindeco
Xin of Pretty Beautiful

And even if I didn’t tag you, please feel free to nick this for your own – the more the merrier! :)


Friday, 20 March 2009

Cheap Find: Mini Toons Wristlet Keychain...

Earlier this year, Paris wrote on her Jimmy Pickles wristlet keychain. After seeing it a few times, I was tempted to order one of my own but never really got past the endless visits to the Etsy website to admire the lovely designs. You see, I liked the wristlet a lot, but not enough to fork out the US$6.50 price + US$3.00 shipping (about RM35 or so at the present exchange rate) for one.

Recently while I was walking past a Mini Toons store, I decided to go in on a whim (that seems to happen a lot with me!) and saw the usual row of neck lanyards hanging on a rack. This time though, I noticed another row of much shorter straps and decided to have a closer look...

And whaddya know – Mini Toons has actually come up with their own version of a wristlet! They come with an attachment for your mobile, which makes me suspect this was originally meant to hang a mobile, but the metal loop is ideal for attaching a keyring – car keys, house keys, and whatever else you feel like.

Mini Toons’ wristlets come in a variety of colours and designs while the material ranges from elastic to non-stretchy. After browsing the options, I settled for a stretchy wristlet in a tartan design. I like the fact that it’s stretchy, which makes it easy to slip over my wrist. And, it’s pretty comfortable too!

The wristlets are also a decent size which is good. And here’s the cheap find bit – they’re retailing for just RM5.95 each. That would mean that you could buy one Jimmy Pickles wristlet keychain, or five Mini Toons wristlets.

Don’t get me wrong though – I love the wristlets Jimmy Pickles designs, and I’d love to get one someday. Sadly though, a girl’s got to make her money go as far as it can in these times. And if I can’t get a Jimmy Pickles wristlet keychain, a Mini Toons one is the next best thing. :)

Labels: ,

Wednesday, 18 March 2009

Solace® Wild Honey & Brown Sugar Body Butter…

During Chinese New Year this year, one of the items I was given to try was a tub of Solace® Naturals Collection Wild Honey & Brown Sugar Body Butter. I finally opened it up a few weeks back, and ooo...it’s being depleted fast!

The Verdict:
I can’t find a real description of this product anywhere online, but I’ll just go with my experience yeah? It’s safe to say that honey has been known for its restorative and moisturising properties, but I’m not quite sure what the brown sugar is for.

The pot comes with a seal for hygiene purposes, which is great. When I opened it, the brown sugar suddenly made its presence felt – with a rather ‘rootbeer’-ish scent! Definitely quite unusual for a body butter, but nevertheless pleasant. However, the body butter took on a mild honey scent after application...I’ve never felt more like sniffing myself with this on...hehehe...

Texture-wise, the body butter has the consistency of smooth thick cream, and is easy to apply. The absorption rate of the butter is not quite as fast as I’d like, so it’s definitely not for the days I’m in a hurry. It also clashed a little bit with the perfume I had on, and although I was fortunate that the resulting scent was not bad, but not something that I’d want to risk.

As far as the moisturising factor goes it gets a pretty decent rating, lasting for a good few hours in an air-conditioned environment before needing a top-up. The immediate pay-off is actually when I first apply the butter, because once it’s fully absorbed my skin feels really nice and soft (not forgetting the nice smell bit!)

So, did I like it? Yup, especially the perk it gave to my sense of smell. I’m not sure if it’s actually good value or not since the body butter was a gift, Solace® Naturals Collection is not available in Malaysia as far as I know, and I haven’t been able to find the price online. Can anyone help me out here?

Rating: 3.5 / 5
Value: N/A


Monday, 16 March 2009

Meet my new baby…

No, not a REAL baby…(believe me, if I’d had a real baby, I’d have some real explaining to do!) I’m actually talking about this darling here…

Yup, I went and got myself the Lenovo IdeaPad S10 (called the S10 because of its 10.2" screen size)…and boy, am I ever loving it! Lenovo may be one of my clients, but since I bought this – what better endorsement than me actually buying the product? I’ve been using ThinkPads for as long as I’ve had a laptop – my first one was an R41, which went with me to Australia during my student days. Super huge, super heavy – GOD my shoulder hurt after lugging it around, but it behaved perfectly. It’s since been passed to my mum, but is still in use today, almost 7 years later!

When I started work with my present company, I was issued a ThinkPad T60 to work on – there was no other choice, seeing as Lenovo was one of my primary clients. The T60 is definitely very solid, since I’ve seen my colleagues drop their laptops, stand (!!) on them (yep, we actually put our laptops through hell), spill water and coffee on the keyboards, carry it by the screen…and this is over the past 18 months or so. And they’re all still working fine (serious!)

However, for size, the two just can’t compare – check out the size difference when I placed my IdeaPad S10 on my Thinkpad T60!

Oh, and if you’re wondering why there’s a Think and Idea line, it’s actually because Think was built for business – high security, durability and performance – while Idea was built for consumers – still as durable, but with specs built for activities such as gaming and home entertainment.

I love the look of this PC – compact, and so sleek…the colour is Pearl White, by the way. I did contemplate getting a Ruby Red one, but in the end I guess I’m just a classic at heart!

This is one of the things that drew me to the IdeaPad S10 – the keyboard is 85% of a standard notebook keyboard, which means that typing is quite comfortable on this. I’ve always loved the keyboards on the ThinkPad – the feel and tension of the keys is quite different from any of the other brand keyboards I’ve tried…if you haven’t tried one, I’d strongly recommend you do!

Width-wise, there’s not too much difference as the T60 is already quite thin, but the weight is quite drastic – the T60 is almost 2.3kg, while my baby weighs in at a lightweight 1.25kg. This is a bit more than the ordinary 1.1kg outside, but only because I opted to get the 6-cell battery, which can last me up to 6 hours.

But speaking of battery, even the S10 charger is smaller than my T60 battery, so needless to say this baby is going to be my default choice to take around.

My IdeaPad S10 comes with a snug neoprene sleeve – shown in pink here, but it’s also reversible to a light grey cover.

Cost-wise, I paid RM1890 for a total package, which came with the following specs and items:
- IdeaPad S10 (Intel Atom Processor, 160GB SATA HDD, 1GB DDR2 RAM, 128MB 945 Intel Accelerator Graphics, Modem, Wireless LAN, 2xUSB ports, VGA port, Bluetooth, 1.3MP Camera, 6-cell battery, 1-yr warranty)
- Upgrade to 2-yr warranty
- Upgrade to 2GB DDR2 RAM
- Charger
- S10 reversible neoprene sleeve
- Optical mouse
- Notebook backpack (can fit up to 15” notebook)
- Sonicgear Speakers

I know, sounds like a lot of technical bits and pieces hor? To me, these were the clinchers:
- 160GB hard disk (HEAPS of space!)
- Atom Processor and 2GB RAM
(it’s a lot faster, and boots up in just under 70secs!)
- 6-cell battery
(the 3-cell only gives about 2.5hrs usage…6-cell boosts it up to almost 6 hours)
- 2-yr warranty (just in case!)
- Wireless LAN (can’t live without the Internet, right?)

So there you have it. Not exactly a beauty-related post, but when I think about it, the IdeaPad S10 really is a thing of beauty. I *heart*!!

The Lenovo IdeaPad S10 is available at all Lenovo stores (I got mine from Lowyat Plaza) and prices start from RM1,699 depending on specifications, and the selection of colours include Pearl White, Glossy Black and Baby Pink. There are currently also limited quantities of the Ruby Red units, available while stocks last.

Rating: 5 / 5
Value: $$$

PS: What can I say? I really REALLY love this netbook…and by the way, my client doesn’t even know I bought it (yet)!

Labels: , ,

Friday, 13 March 2009

Just because it’s Friday the 13th…

During my recent trip to Singapore, I didn’t really buy much (really!), but one of the items I did spend on was a new wallet – I had been wanting to get one for the longest time, but nothing really caught my eye until I chanced on this in the Zara @ Takashimaya:

Looks very beach-ey doesn’t it? Hehe…I love the textured surface, plus it’s got all my favourite muted colours on it without look too “over the top”…and if that wasn’t enough reason to love it…

Check out the inside! :) Guaranteed to give any wallet lover palpitations…there’s HEAPS of space inside to store all my cards, money, notes, and whatnots. Everything’s kept inside with a sturdy zip too.

And the price tag for this bit of retail therapy? SGD29.90 (approximately RM70)*heart*…I love finds like this!

Have a good weekend people!

Labels: ,

Thursday, 12 March 2009


Since I’ve started working, I’ve actually gone down to Singapore quite often…in fact, I think I’ve gone more often in the past couple of years than the rest of my life, which is saying something!

Of course, going down by plane is fine when it’s on the company account, but when it’s on personal matters, there are more financially attractive means of making it across the Causeway. Driving into Singapore is just EXPENSIVE and the train stops quite far out of town, so Firstcoach is a great alternative.

Firstcoach was first introduced in November 2004 as a Luxury Executive Express servicing between Malaysia and Singapore. If I’m not mistaken, it was also around the same time Aeroline emerged. While Aeroline has since gone on to extend their route to include Penang, Firstcoach has worked on expanding their existing Malaysia-Singapore route, and in my opinion have done a great job.

When I first started taking Firstcoach back in 2005, everything was run out of their Bangsar branch. Today, Firstcoach has got stops at Novena Square and The Plaza in Singapore, as well as Bangsar and Bandar Utama in Malaysia. I love the latter, since it’s near my house.

The rate is pretty good – RM115 for a return trip, and approximately half price for children. When you arrive at the pickup point, you can expect a welcome drink, as well as a bottle of water and a packet of biscuits at the start of the ride. There is also at least one scheduled 15-minute stop along the way for those needing a toilet break or just to stretch their legs.

As far as seating goes, their seats are spacious and quite comfortable. It reclines quite a way down along with the leg rest – even those with longer legs (or a little bit more in the seat area!) will have no complaints.

However, if I could select one thing that sets Firstcoach apart from the other dozen or so Malaysia-Singapore bus services, it would be their drivers. Over the various trips I’ve taken with Firstcoach, I have never come across any of their drivers who were anything less than friendly and courteous. They’ve cheerfully chatted with the passengers, offered help at every turn and once, even helped me to charge my mobile when the battery died.

Firstcoach installed Video on Demand (VOD) services a while back, which I hear are pretty good. Unfortunately, I didn’t get to try the service out since they were servicing the system.

From what I heard from friends that have tried the VOD, it’s pretty good so I’ll definitely be looking forward to checking it out the next time I head into Spore. Will I continue using Firstcoach? You bet!

Rating: 5 / 5
Value: $$$


Wednesday, 11 March 2009

Brought to you by the letter 'S'...

Hi hi! Missed me? If you guys were wondering where I disappeared to the past week, can you guess where I was from the picture above?

I was actually in Singapore to settle some matters as well as attend a wedding. And while I was there, I happened to see Sephora at the Takashimaya along Orchard Road. Didn’t end up taking any photos of the place, but it’s on the same floor as Zara.

I must say the Sephora in Singapore was totally disappointing. The prices are at least 50% higher than the prices overseas, which is rather sucky. I can understand maybe 20-25% higher, but a minimum of 50% higher? Items that I bought for €1-€2 (RM5-RM10) in Barcelona are selling for SGD5-SGD8 (RM12-RM19)…simply insane!! Suffice to say, I didn’t buy anything…

But speaking of Sephora (the US outlets), these new products from ColorOn Professional™ are just gorgeous…

ColorOn EyeEnvy is a one-size-fits-all mineral cream eyeshadow appliqué that were designed by a celebrity make-up artist. I dunno about you, but I love the look of these unusual designs – might be just what you need to give a different look to your Little Black Dress.

A box of five pairs of shadow appliqués, one jar of GetSet setting powder, and one powder application brush comes at a price tag of USD25. And since I can’t get my hands on it just yet, I’ll have to settle for the real thing…LOL!

This one’s for Connie! :D


Boots No.17 Duo Eye Shadow Glamour…

It seems that every time I get reminiscent of my Bangkok shopping trips, I tend to dig out something I bought along the trips to quell my hankering to go back. Well, either that or actually go back to Bangkok, but the next trip is still a time away, so this time it was my Boots No.17 Duo Eye Shadow Glamour.

Each one of Boots No.17 Duo Eye Shadow Glamour contains two complementary shades, with a fine texture that blends easily over eyelids. Provides an even, luminous brilliance of colour that lasts for hours without creasing. Available in 5 stunning combinations, dermatologically tested and fragrance-free.

The Verdict:
I like the way the powder tips are a bit springy so that the powder in the ends are kept firmly packed instead of spilling out when the ends are unscrewed. Of course, that doesn’t mean that you can open the ends anyhow, but it does help minimise the spill factor. And as you use up the powder, the spring tips help ensure that you can reach the powder at the very ends.

As far as the colour goes, the shades are gorgeous – one is a pale iridescent pink, while the other is a deep plum. The pale pink is excellent for as a highlight, although this is better suited for cool-toned girls. I actually count myself quite lucky since I can carry off most cool and warm shades (with the exception of matte pastels…bad bad bad!)

There’s the notion that purple/violet makes people look like people have been punched in the eye, but I found the combination of the pink and plum works quite well as long as you keep the plum close to the upper lash line, and AWAY from the lower lashes.

However, the staying power of this eye shadow isn’t quite as good as I’d hoped. I tried it with and without a base, and even on both counts it creased something bad a few hours into the day. Colour-wise, it has decent pigmentation so my only gripe would be the creasing. Even the price point is pretty good (especially in this economic crunch!) so for a short event, this would work pretty well. Have any of you tried this out? Let me know how you like it!

Boots No.17 Duo Eye Shadow Glamour is available from all Boots outlets. I bought mine from Boots in Bangkok Thailand for THB129 (approx. RM12.90).

Rating: 3.5 / 5
Value: $$


Monday, 2 March 2009

Silk Naturals Sugar Lips Kit…

When Kahani asked if I wanted in on her frequent Silk Naturals orders, I decided to start small with just a couple of purchases (which has since grown, but that’s another story!), one of which was the Sugar lips Kit since Kahani was raving about it. Apparently according to her, it was good enough to eat!

Our Sugar Lips kit is just what you need for sexy, smooth lips. You get one 10 gram jar of our Brown Sugar and Vanilla Lip Scrub and a tube of Pure – our clear Black Label Lippie. The Brown Sugar and Vanilla Lip Scrub contains brown sugar, butter, vanilla and a touch of honey- it's the recipe for the softest lips ever! On the other hand, our Black Label lippies are the most luxurious lippies on the planet. Formulated with vitamin, anti-oxidant, and essential fatty acid rich cranberry, passionfruit, and camellia oil, plus skin softening organic jojoba and avocado oil, as well as shea butter – these absolutely cannot be beat.

The Verdict:
Hoo boy, she was right! I love the way Karen and her Silk Naturals team packages their products in little organza bags – they make lovely gifts as is, and for every girl to get one of these packages whether she bought it herself or received it…the bags will give you a thrill!

LOL…okay, enough about the packaging. The Brown Sugar and Vanilla Lip Scrub tastes just lovely! The directions are so simple…just use the little scoop, stir it up and rub a little bit on your lips. Rub your lips together for a few seconds (although I prefer to use my index finger to rub my lips), then wipe off with a tissue.

And voila! Softer, smoother and slightly plumper lips in less than a minute. :) And if you follow it with an application of the Black Label lip gloss included in the kit, you’ll have seriously kissable lips! I love the effect this has on my lips, and ooo…I have to admit, more often than not I end up licking the scrub off my lips rather than with a tissue…*whoops!*

I’m going to be ordering another stash of this once I’m done, since it’s a great deal. The Sugar Lips set is the same price as one pot of lip scrub, so the set definitely makes more sense. I can’t find anything to NOT like about the product, except the fact that I have to be careful with the lid of the scrub since any small grain caught in the grooves will let the liquid in the scrub seep out if not stored upright. Other than that though, no complaints! :D

Silk Natural Sugar Lips Kit can be purchased on the Silk Naturals website and retails at USD9.95.

Rating: 4.5 / 5
Value: $$


Sunday, 1 March 2009

Domain Delight!!

Gosh, this year is just flying by isn’t it? March is already here…and well, I figured it would be a good time to make the big switch…

Beetrice’s Reviews has moved to a brand new home!! :)

I’d been wanting to move over to my own domain for the longest time, but one thing or another seemed to get in the way. After mulling over it, mulling some more, and endlessly bugging Tine for her recommendations (gosh, that poor girl must be sick of hearing my indecisiveness for the longest time, and we haven’t even gotten to talking about hosting yet!)...the old address of www.reviews-galore.blogspot.com is now www.beetricesreviews.com!

This is the first ever actual .com domain I’ve ever had (those I have to deal with for work don’t count!), so for me this is a big step – needless to say, Beetrice’s Reviews is here to stay!! :) Thank you for all the lovely support thus far, and here’s looking forward to the rest of 2009 bringing plenty of fun and excitement!

PS: There's also a new email you can use to contact me with - beetricesreviews[at]gmail[dot]com - which has also been placed on my sidebar as well! *squeals*