Monday, 31 March 2008

Naughty or Nice?

During my surfing sessions, I saw that Max Factor has got two new lines of expressive lip colors for their MAXalicious Glitz and Glaze glosses – Naughty and Nice. I want!

MAXalicious Glitz is the sparkly one of the two, swirled with glittery flecks to give a high-impact shine.

MAXalicious Glaze provides sheer brilliance with pearlescent pinks and gossamer golds. I particularly like the look of these as you can either use them alone or over your lipstick.

And if that weren’t enough, you’ve got two fabulous ranges of colour to choose from…

Naughty Shades

Nice shades

So which one are you? Naughty or nice? For me, I like the look of this one in particular…MAXilicious First Kiss - sheer with just a hint of colour... :)


Friday, 28 March 2008

Lip Gloss Promos…

This weekend, go on and have a gander at these couple of nifty deals on lip glosses in town…

The new Chanel Aqualumiere Gloss is going for RM88 at all Chanel counters, and is available in 8 shades (I reckon they’re pushing it a bit with the ‘prosperous’ numbers!)

Stila has packaged its trademark click pen lip glosses into a set of six mini glosses – three of their best-selling shades, as well as three unique shades not normally found on the shelves. On a normal occasion, one normal sized gloss costs approximately RM60. However, this set of six glosses is going for a bargain RM120.

The promotion is available at the Stila counter at Midvalley Metrojaya (haven’t seen it anywhere else yet).

Have a good weekend!


Who wants the pure taste adventure?

I was hoping to be first, but Paris beat me to it…lookie what I got in the mail last night:

It’s the new New Zealand Natural Expressions member card, which comes with plenty of discounts and benefits…
  • 10% discount on all regular-priced items
  • 5 Expressions points for every ringgit spent, which is redeemable on the next purchase
  • Additional rebates on the 30th of every month (obviously February is not included!)
  • Other promotional offers

Of course, this is besides the fact that NZN already has an ongoing “30% off on the 30th” promotion at all their outlets. So do go and check out any of the NZN outlets for more info on how to score your very own card!

Personally, I love their Rum & Raisin, Mint Choc Kisses and Fruits of the Forest…but the rest aren’t half bad either... :)

PS: By the way, the 30th is just two days away (Sunday)…heehee…and the title? It's their tagline, of course!

Labels: ,

Thursday, 27 March 2008

Beyond Beauty Open House…

Beyond Beauty is a beauty centre from Singapore that has now made its way to Malaysia – a very boutique-style interior and spa-like ambience. As part of their opening promotion, they’re offering a free VibraTrim session worth $180 to the first 100 customers to present a voucher at their outlets.

They’ll also be holding their open day from 28th-30th March to introduce people to their beauty centre, as well as hold health & beauty talks. There’ll also be free goodie bags, discounts on therapies and introductory prices to their new therapy.

For more details, please call the respective outlets:
Lot 10 - 03-2142 8998
Mid Valley City - 03-2283 4833
Hartamas Shopping Centre - 03-6201 3003
Taman Tun Dr Ismail- 03-7726 6328
Subang Jaya - 03-8023 7328


Wednesday, 26 March 2008

Lipcare Mix from Make Up Store…!!

A girl friend surprised me with this small package a couple of days ago ‘just because’ (according to her). I’ve heard some nice things about it so far, but have yet to check it out so imagine my delight! It's from the Swedish-born Make Up Store...

You have to admit, they definitely know their way around packaging…

She got me a Lip Care Mix, which is a small case that contains three separate sections – green, white and pink respectively…

Here comes the interesting part – deciphering which section does which task. The green one is a lip scrub (I’ve heard of Body Shop having Lipscuff, but this is something new), the white cream is treatment to soothe chapped lips as well as prime your lips for applying liner/ gloss/ lipstick. Last but not least, pink is a lip moisturizer (or balm, if you will) which can be used on its own as well as together with the other two. Gives your lips a healthy pink sheen as well.

I’ll let you all know once I’ve gotten my ‘lips’ (as opposed to teeth?) into it. Now if you don’t mind, I’m off to scrub my lips…back with a pout soon! :D

The Make Up Store is available at Pavilion KL and The Gardens Midvalley.


Tuesday, 25 March 2008

Body Shop Vitamin C Skin Boost...

I don’t think there’s anyone out there that hasn’t had skin woes at one time or another. For me, it was during my studying days…I had the worst case of pimples ever (or so it seemed to me at the time), and not even a stint in Australia could help it any (apparently sometimes its due to the weather). It got so bad at one point that I was trying almost everything in the market short of cortisone shots, to no avail. But they say every cloud has a silver lining, and this product is mine.

After returning from Australia, a product advisor at Body Shop suggested that I try the Vitamin C Skin Boost

A glycerin-based skin pick-me-up which is applied prior to moisturizer, the Vitamin C Skin Boost gives a daily radiance lift and antioxidant boost. Restores and protects skin’s glow. Active ingredients include:
  • Glycerin – An effective moisturizer which helps improve softness and maximize hydration.
  • Lanolin – One of nature’s richest moisturizers. It is readily absorbed by the skin and provides good protection.
  • Orange Flower Water – Gently refreshes and hydrates the skin.
  • Vitamin C – Helps to fight free radical damage and brightens skin.

The instructions are simple enough – simply apply to cleansed face and neck, using your fingertips, in the morning or evening, under your moisturizer.

The Verdict:
It doesn’t get any better than this. The lovely orange scent does wonders for your senses and helps to relax you (which also helps since pimples can be caused by stress!), and the glycerin base provides an excellent protective layer against the elements. As a bonus, it also acts as a good make up base since the Skin Boost actually smoothens out your skin surface.

But here is the real clincher:

Before and After – the one on the left was taken in Australia early 2004 (on a relatively GOOD day, I might add), and the picture on the right was taken in Dec the same year…after just two month’s worth of daily application of the Skin Boost. I still use it till today, and while I’ve gotten the odd breakout now and then, I’ve yet to see a pimple attack anywhere close to my pre-Skin Boost days.

On a side note, the same product advisor that suggested Skin Boost to me? Haha…he’s now a senior product consultant and a firm friend – anytime Body Shop has sales or new products he thinks I’ll like, he drops me a line (also good for business right?). The next time you’re at the Body Shop in Midvalley, look for Man (pronounced ‘Mah-nn’) and tell him I sent you… :)

Rating: 5 / 5
Value: $$$
(this stuff is worth its weight in gold!)


Monday, 24 March 2008

Cats Whiskers – Purple Power…

Cats Whiskers is located at:-
Sri Hartamas : 34-1, 1st Floor, Jln 27/70A, Desa Sri Hartamas, Kuala Lumpur (above Pills & Potions Pharmacy) Tel: 2300 1264
Damansara Perdana : 22-2, 1st Floor, Jln PJU 8/5G, Damansara Perdana, Petaling Jaya (opposite The Place) Tel: 7728 5662
Bangsar : 7-1, 1st Floor, Jln Telawi 2, Bangsar Baru, Kuala Lumpur (opposite La Bodega) Tel: 2282 7317
Subang Jaya : 32A, 1st Floor, Jln SS15/4D, Subang Jaya (above Pressto) Tel: 5638 3520
Damansara Utama : 52M, 1st Floor, Jln SS21/58, Damansara Utama (opposite RHB Bank, same row as Baskin Robbins) Tel: 7710 5217


Lemon Garden Café @ Shangri-La KL...

While I'm on the topic of food, during the public holiday last week I went to Shang for lunch with a colleague…the hotel itself holds some pretty unique memories for us, so what better way to ‘celebrate’ than at the Lemon Garden Café. They do have a decent spread of buffet selections, which should appease a finicky palate.

The Lemon Garden Café @ Shangri-La KL

Salad station – plenty of healthy and not-so-healthy choices to get your greens…

Chinese cuisine at its ‘Hong Kong’ style best…they even have ‘dim sum’…

The sushi bar, where I spent most of my time…salmon, tuna, octopus, oysters…what’s your eating style? With lemon, wasabi, soy sauce or Tabasco?

This is the pinnacle of my judgment at any establishment…DESSERTS!

Any outlet that has an entire section dedicated to chocolate can’t be all that bad…can it?

They also have counters where you can have Chinese noodles made to order, Indian curries and roti canai, and roast beef with duck confit and appetizers. Having been there a couple of times, these are the ‘must-try’ items in my book…

Cooked prawn with cream cheese on a braised mushroom appetizer

We had the spaghetti made to order (try a mix of tomato and cream sauce) and chicken porridge – both are exceptionally good

My favourite – the desserts…in clockwise order from top, mango lassi with sago, crème brulee, meringue tart, mandarin raspberry blueberry custard tartlet, raspberry mousse-cream with berry reduction on top garnished with white and milk chocolate shapes.

Their crème brulee is good when its thoroughly chilled and the sugar topping flambé-d just before you take it, so do ask for a fresh one if necessary. Mango lassi with sago…mixed decision – I liked it while my colleague said it was too tart, so it’s up to individual taste.

If you want the very basics, this is something new at the café – chocolate ‘lollipops’ anyone? :D They’re swirled in white and milk chocolate, so be warned that it’s SUPER SWEET. The lollipops are stuck in a vase full of swirled white and milk chocolate chips as well, so if you want a serious sugar-endorphin-chocolate high, go for it!

For the price, it’s not too bad but most of the foods are delicacies that can be prepared elsewhere, so the ambience and presentation is what you’re really paying for. Of course, if you happen to be able to eat your weight in sushi, roast beef and oysters, then there’s nothing stopping you from going there the next time you’re in town.

Lunch at Lemon Garden Café @ Shangri-La is RM72.00++ per head and is available on weekdays only from 12.00-2.30pm.

Rating: 3.5 / 5
Value: $
(if they took away the sushi bar, you would have to eat a LOT more to get your money’s worth)


Izzi March Madness…

Izzi is now into its last week of March Madness, and is offering a 50% discount on its food menu…

Additionally, they’re also giving away vouchers for their delivery service – 20% discount on all food as well as a ‘Buy 1 Free 1’ promo on their pizzas. The vouchers below are valid till 30 June 2008 with a minimum order of RM20 (further terms & conditions are available on the voucher)

Izzi is located at:-
KL: 44-2A, 44-3A, 44-4A, Jln Sultan Ismail, 50250 Kuala Lumpur
PJ: No.45G & 47G, Jalan SS 21/37, Damansara Utama, 47400 Petaling Jaya

For reservations, please call 03-2141 5808.


Sunday, 23 March 2008

Weekend Shopping…

The weekend’s usually not a good time (for me anyway) to go shopping…heaps of cars, trouble finding parking, queues everywhere. But this weekend was an exception – I was at Midvalley to pick up a wedding present for a friend, and happened by a couple of purchases (that’s where this post comes in, right?)

At Watson’s, I noticed a small table at the front with a whole stack of compacts and makeup, which piqued my interest…

They are currently selling off all their Kanebo products at heavily discounted prices (I think certain lines are being discontinued), so you can imagine my surprise when I saw the prices…

Can you imagine? 40% off? From the original price of RM26.00, I paid only RM15.60 for this duo eyeshadow in a pretty neutral brown – very suitable for daily use. I’ll do a more complete review once I try it out properly, but at first try (ie. fingertip test) the texture’s pretty smooth, so I’m expecting some good things from it. :)

And since I had some time to kill, I dropped by Sasa to pick up a new lipbrush (mine’s gone MIA…just wait till I find that miscreant that ‘borrowed’ it!), and saw the Silkygirl Juicy Fruity Brush-on Lipgloss in Juicy Glitter – at RM13.21 PLUS a 10% discount, it came at a bargain RM11.89.

The part I love about it? It has a built in lipbrush as an applicator…I can’t stand those lipglosses that come with a slanted tip – you end up with way too much or not enough gloss, and whatever colour you applied prior to that ends up bleeding into your gloss (way gross).

Watson’s is discounting all its Kanebo stocks from now until end of the month or while stocks last. Sasa’s sale is also running until 31st March.

Yesiree, I’m a happy chickie this weekend…



During my student days in Australia, we used to hunt frantically for whatever remedies would work WITHOUT us having to go see a doctor (expensive for international students!). Not that I’m advocating self-treatment, but at the time it was ‘whatever works, goes’.

Migrastick was one of the ‘miracle cures’ for migranes and headaches. At one time, I couldn’t find any of them in the stores, but now that a friend told me they’re back on the shelves and readily available, I thought I’d include a post on it.

The product itself is simple – it’s a small vial (3ml) with a roller-stick containing 100% essential oils. The product description claims that Migrastick is a natural solution to quickly relieve pain and headache in a chic and practical pocket format, and contains no preservatives, parabens, colourings or alcohol. The massage effect and the cool sensation provided relieves pain associated with headaches and migraines.

When experiencing sensations of a heavy head, tension, stress or (duh) migranes, apply Migrastick with 2 or 3 short circular movements on the temples, forehead and neck for relief. However, Migrastick should be avoided by the following groups:

  • Children under 12 years of age
  • Pregnant or lactating women
  • Epileptics

The Verdict:
It’s a great complement to the usual paracetamol and aspirin I usually take for headaches, and speeds up the ebbing time as well. Also good for the times you just want a little pick-me-up and refresh yourself at work. The only warning is – you WILL smell rather strongly of peppermint (one of the key essential oils in Migrastick), so apply rather sparingly…just a couple of applications will give you all the relief you need, and the effects last for a fair while. Also, with the 3ml size it’s just so easy to pop into your handbag or drawer. One major drawback though – at AUD$12.95 a pop, it’s just way out of my budget for regular use.

Migrastick retails in 3ml vials for approximately AUD$12.95 and can be gotten at any Priceline, Coles or Woolworths’ outlets. Also available in the UK and USA via its local distributors – more information can be gotten here.

Rating: 4 / 5
Value: $


Friday, 21 March 2008

Honey Helpers...

Honey – can be found almost anywhere, comes in many forms and varieties…and has TONS of uses. I’m sure you’re all aware of all its cooking and sweetening properties, but did you know that there are a lot of uses for honey in beauty regimes? Serious…you can use honey in a variety of ways to improve your face, hair and skin! I’ve tried several over the years, and these are a few of my favourites (in no particular order):

Honey Moisture Mask
– Mix two tablespoons of honey, one teaspoon of lemon juice, one teaspoon of powdered milk and three tablespoons of ground almonds (alternatively you can use almond meal as well). Smooth mixture over skin and let it dry…as it dries, rub off mixture gently in circular motions and rinse off the residue completely with lukewarm water.

Honey Apple Toner – Peel and core an apple, then mash until mushy. Mix this with five tablespoons of honey and apply anywhere on your face, arms or neck that you want to tighten up and restore elasticity to.

Honey Facial – Mix two egg whites, four tablespoons of honey and just enough flour to form a thick paste (usually about 2-3tablespoons). Apply liberally all over face, allow to dry and rinse off with lukewarm water.

Lazy Girls’ Shortcut – This is the simplest of them all…apply honey directly on your skin. If you have rough, scaly or sensitive skin, apply honey over these areas and leave to dry before rinsing off with warm water. I’ve gotten some really good results with this option (and yes, I’m one of the lazy girls!)

Brittle Hair Fix
– Mix a cup of honey and ½cup of olive oil (if your hair is naturally oily, reduce to ¼cup olive oil) and massage into scalp. After massaging it in, cover with clingwrap or a shower cap and leave in for half an hour (or longer if possible), then shower and wash your hair as usual.

Shiny Mane Spray – To get rid of dull lacklustre hair, get a spray bottle with a thick and open nozzle. Using two cups of very warm tap water, mix in two tablespoons of honey and shake well to mix. Spray this in your hair and brush through thoroughly. Leave to dry or blow dry, after which your hair will be much shinier. Can be used on colour treated or permed hair as well.

Honey Bath
– For a real treat, add two cups of honey to your bubble bath that will soften your skin and relax your muscles. Personally, I like to mix a bit of honey with my body scrub since I don’t have a bathtub. Be careful not to dilute it too much, or you won’t get the full effects.

Dry Skin Miracle – For overly dry skin, mix four tablespoons of honey and three tablespoons of powdered milk together. Apply to the areas where you feel your skin is dry or tight, leave to dry slightly and rinse off after a few minutes for immediate improvement.

The important things to remember are that honey has a natural ability to retain moisture and is a fantastic source of vitamins and minerals (not to mention antioxidants for that oh-so-important anti-aging effect!), so it’s perfect for combating dry skin and hair. Other than that, the freedom to mix up your own concoctions is in your hands. :D

Give these beauty recipes a try, and let me know how they work for you…happy experimenting!


Revlon Limited Edition Collection Mix & Mingle Lip Palette…

I am SO waiting for this to be available here…

It’s just so pretty, no? As opposed to ordinary lip palettes where each colour has its own compartment, the Revlon Limited Edition Collection Mix & Mingle Lip Palette has three colours which are swirled together in one lipgloss case for plenty of mixing fun – who knows, in the midst of all the stirring and blending you might accidentally come up with a colour that you REALLY like.

The swirl of glosses can be used individually, layered or blended together to create a unique lip colour and is available in 6 delectable palettes.

*keeps fingers crossed that they’ll be bringing it in soon*


Thursday, 20 March 2008

Dr Murad Energizing Pomegranate Cleanser...

During my last trip to my facialist, she told me that my skin was looking rather lacklustre (at that point, I was under some serious stress and attending a lot of night events, so the comment was quite warranted). I’m the kind of person that actually needs to wash my face in order to feel that I’ve taken off all my makeup regardless of whether I’ve used a makeup remover or not. This had caused a bit of a breakout and a vicious cycle, as due to the breakouts, I was wearing more makeup...and because of the added makeup, I was washing my face more frequently. Since I had some vouchers to redeem, she suggested that I try Dr Murad’s Energizing Pomegranate Cleanser.

The product itself is straight forward enough – it’s a dual-action foaming facial cleanser that’s designed to cleanse as well as tone at one go, as well as energize, promote healthy skin and revitalize tired skin. The active ingredients include:

  • Murad's powerful Energizing Pomegranate Complex™
  • Artemia to stimulate healthy cell function
  • Pomegranate antioxidants to help defend skin against elements
  • Witch Hazel to tone and tighten pores
  • Copper to energize skin

Gently massage foam over dampened face and neck. Rinse with warm water and pat dry. For optimal results, it’s recommended that you follow up with Murad’s Energizing Pomegranate Treatment and Energizing Pomegranate Moisturizer SPF15 during the day, but this is up to you.

The Verdict:
My facialist uses this every time I have a facial, so I was quite familiar with it already. First thing that stands out is the pomegranate scent – it seriously smells good enough to eat! The scent will certainly get you energized for the rest of the day.

It’s also very gentle and non-irritating, and takes every speck of makeup off despite feeling very ‘light’ on my skin and rinsing off easily. I also like the fact that after cleansing, my skin doesn’t feel tight. (Tip: If you find it difficult to smile after washing your face, your cleanser’s probably too harsh for your skin type!)

The product itself is quite pricey, but well worth it for the quality and results…plus, you save a bit on the toner as well. And did I mention that a bottle will last you ages?

Dr Murad Energising Pomegranate Cleanser is sold in bottles of 150ml and retails for approximately RM120.00. In Malaysia, you can purchase it at any CN Health & Beauty outlets.

Rating: 4.5 / 5
Value: $$


Wednesday, 19 March 2008

Chakras Massage Promotions...

If you like massages (the GENUINE kind, not the sleazy ones!!), Chakras has some great promotions from now until mid-April…

Personally, I’m liking the sound of Promotion #3… :)


EI Solutions Lash Primer Lash Conditioning Treatment...

Before I go into this review, Cosmobeaute Asia is an annual expo that takes place over 3-4 days at the Putra World Trade Centre (PWTC). A lot of foreign makeup companies choose to showcase their products at this event, which makes for a fantastic ground to pick up samples, as well as find out about the latest items to hit the beauty market.

At the last Cosmobeaute Asia, a Korean company representing EI Solutions caught my eye, or rather, lashes with its Lash Primer Lash Conditioning Treatment. It’s a conditioning treatment for your lashes that promises lush, full lashes with continued use and maximizes the effects of your mascara – apparently a godsend for those with damaged and brittle eyelashes. The product also promises a slew of benefits:
  • Nourishes your lashes with Wheat Germ Oil, Silk Amino Acids, Silk Protein and Soybean Protein
  • Repairs and strengthens damaged and brittle lashes
  • Lengthens and strengthens eyelashes
  • Locks in mascara color for up to eight hours
  • Makes mascara smudge-free and run-free
  • Allows for easier, more gentle removal of mascara

To apply, sweep the Lash Primer brush through upper and lower lashes to desired length. Allow the formula to set for 60 seconds before applying regular mascara.

The Verdict:
Apart from the price and difficulty of getting it here, I cannot find anything bad to say about this product – I LOVE IT! Dang…should have done more eyelash-batting when I had it on. You would not believe how amazing my eyelashes looked then – I could even omit the mascara altogether and simply curl my lashes to get a natural, yet full look. I’m only sorry it ran out too fast, and I haven’t been able to get my hands on another tube since (without ordering online, that is).

EI Solutions Lash Primer Lash Conditioning Treatment can retail from as low as USD$17.00 – check out for more details on how to order yours. Alternatively, Cosmobeaute Asia will be back in Malaysia this July.

Rating: 5 / 5
Value: $$


Tuesday, 18 March 2008

Boots Baby Oil Gel...

Many of us have used baby oil at one time or another for a variety of uses. I don’t know about you, but it’s sometimes rather tricky negotiating the use of baby oil, especially when it just goes all over the place and the bottle drips. I just discovered a new product that’s on the market – baby oil GEL, specifically the one from Boots.

Boots baby oil gel is a specially formulated intensive moisturiser. Boots’ Baby Oil Gel has a water-free formulation without any preservatives to irritate your skin. The new gel format allows simple, no-mess application and sinks easily into the skin leaving behind a long-lasting protective layer. Its convenient no-mess formulation makes Boots’ Baby Oil Gel quick and easy to apply.

Applied to wet skin, the unique gel format locks in 10 times more moisture than many other lotions and creams, leaving your skin feeling soft and comfortable throughout the day. This clinically proven mild and gentle formula is allergy and dermatologist-tested, and has various applications and benefits for both baby and you.

For baby:
  • Helps seal in moisture
  • Soothes chafed skin
  • Removes cradle cap

For you:

  • Locks in up to ten times more moisture on wet skin than an ordinary lotion can on dry skin
  • Soothes and relieves dry, rough patches
  • Leaves skin glowing and baby soft
  • Can be used as a shaving cream alternative

Use this oil gel for a gentle massage, after a bath, or for any time you want to help seal in moisture and refresh dry skin.

The Verdict:
I like the mess-free aspect of the oil gel, and it’s definitely come in very handy as a shaving cream alternative, but that’s about as far as it goes. It’s simply just…too oily. The gel remains on your skin for a very long time afterwards, making it difficult to do anything – and if you happen to apply it before bed, please say a prayer for your sheets as oil stains are almost impossible to remove in its entirety.

The other redeeming aspect is that it really does do what it claims. If you can wait for the gel to be absorbed into your skin, rest assured your skin WILL be as smooth as a baby’s bottom...that is, IF you can wait. The price is nothing to be shouted about as it’s the equivalent of RM10 for a 200ml bottle. As for me, I find it useful enough when I’m in dire need of moisture, and it’s pretty good for a massage where you don’t want to spill oil all over the place.

This is going to remain as my shaving cream alternative. Unless of course, I had more massages…

Boot’s Baby Oil Gel comes in 200ml bottles, and is available at all Boots outlets.

Rating: 2.5 / 5
Value: $


Sunday, 16 March 2008

Body Shop Spa Wisdom - On a High Hydrating Puree...

Over the weekend, I was at the Body Shop in Pavilion, and tried this product – and I think I’ve found a new vice.

The new Spa Wisdom – On a High Hydrating Puree is a soothing, lightweight and cooling all-over moisturizing body gel that gently hydrates the skin. It is a delicately fragranced, non-sticky product that leaves skin feeling instantly refreshed and silky smooth.

The Hydrating Puree contains skin-nourishing rose hip oil, moisturising andiroba oil from the Amazon, Community Trade babassu oil from Brazil, and cooling aloe vera gel to create a wonderfully light and non-greasy skin moisturiser.

Pump the puree into your hand and smooth liberally onto towel dried skin. Can be applied after a bath or shower or as often as required.

The Verdict:
When I first saw this, my initial thought was “It’s going to be just like the Africa Spa scrub – creamy and takes a long time to absorb” but this is a refreshing change from the usual body butters at Body Shop. Their claim of a water-based lotion rings true, with the puree disappearing into your skin in less than half a minute…definitely good for those of us who just want a quick moisture fix without the greasy feel afterwards.

The smell’s pretty unusual…I’d liken it to a mix of very light rose and aloe…definitely not unpleasant. Also, the shop lady told me that thanks to the aloe vera, the lotion actually keeps you cool on hot days (although I have yet to test this part out).

However, at RM65 per bottle it’s a little steep for your typical daily lotion, seeing as you can get a bigger bottle of say, St Ives lotion (about 600ml?) for about a third of the price – but personally, I’d definitely buy it just because of the water-base. I can’t stand lotions that result in you leaving oily fingerprints all over the place (glass, plastic and paper come to mind) for at least half an hour after application. In contrast, I’ve actually applied the puree twice since starting this entry, and my keyboard and table surface is still pristine. :)

The Body Shop Spa Wisdom – On a High Hydrating Puree comes in 250ml bottles, and retails for RM65.00 at all Body Shop outlets.

Rating: 4 / 5
Value: $


Tuesday, 11 March 2008

Boots Extremely C Triple White Pore Refining Essence...

This is the second product from the Boots Extremely C range I’m trying – already loving the Triple White Energising Night Cream I reviewed in this post.

A rapidly absorbed essence specially formulated to refine and tighten pores, improving the appearance of fine lines, by smoothing, leaving your skin radiant and feeling revitalized.
  • Triple C Complex enriched with Ascorbyl Glucoside, Sodium Ascorbyl Phosphate and Ascorbyl Palmitate, plus Vitamins A and E, give enhanced whitening effects, helping inhibit the production of melanin, brightening dark spots and providing anti-oxidant effects.

  • Triple C Complex to effectively brighten skin

  • Citrus Extract Complex and Tangerine Extract help increase the turnover of dead skin cells, refreshing and revealing brighter skin.

  • Silk Proteins bind water molecules, helping restore skin’s natural moisture balance.

  • Microspheres including Sodium Hyaluronate hydrate from the skin’s natural moisture, helping give plumping and smoothing effects.

  • Witch Hazel Extract helps refine and tighten pores.

Use after cleansing and toning to prepare skin for moisturizing. Apply with fingertips, smoothing onto your face and neck. Avoid direct contact with the eyes. Keep away from heat and direct sunlight. For best results, use as part of your Boots Extremely C skincare regime.

The Verdict:
It’s not as good as I’d hoped…the pore refining definitely works, but it takes a long time to be absorbed, and the pump mechanism of the bottle is a bit tricky – sometimes it just squirts a huge amount into your palm (or if unlucky, it ends up sprayed all over your dressing table), or miniscule amounts when you press it too slowly.

But bottle design woes aside, I’m still not too impressed with it – the bottle doesn’t last too long either. I’ve only been using it two weeks, and the contents are already one third gone. I think I’ll pass on this next round.

That said, the Boots Extremely C range has got a variety of products worth checking out – I’ll definitely be picking up more on my next trip…

Rating: 3 / 5
Value: $


Monday, 10 March 2008

Nichii Moving Out Sale…

Seems like my last couple of posts have been on nothing but clothes, but I can’t help it – there are just so many nice sales going on in town!

This just in…the Nichii Fashion City outlet in Sungai Besi is moving to another location in the Fraser Business Park, so they’re currently selling off all their stock at 10%-80% off…good news for you clothes-aholics eh? They’re got some absolutely divine dresses in with plenty of stock left, so do drop by before the end of this month (March 31st) to pick up some bargains.

I bought this yesterday while I was there – a off-shoulder top with ‘popcorn’ ruching – and at 50% off, it’s a mere RM19.95 (after discount). Prices start from RM9.00 upwards, so you know what to do yeah?

Oh, and effective mid-April 2008, this will be Nichii’s new address:

Unit 26G-38G,
Jalan Metro Pudu,
Fraser Business Park,
Off Jalan Yew,
55100 Kuala Lumpur
(It’s just further down the road from the current location)


Saturday, 8 March 2008

Bargain Finds...

I found some real pretty finds today during my time out… :D

From left to right:

#1 – A brown dress with green flower motifs. The ribbon below the bust ties around the back. Bought this at the Thai Fest mentioned in my previous posts for a bargain RM25.00

#2 – Dark blue open front jersey top (and yes, I’ll have to wear a tube inside!) from Cats Whiskers @ RM69.00 **

#3 – Purple dress empire line dress from Cats Whiskers @ RM79.00 **

** And here comes the real bargain – Cats Whiskers is currently having a 50% - 70% off sale on ALL their items (except new arrivals), so #2 and #3 cost me a TOTAL of RM74.00!

To sum it up? I got almost three new outfits for less than RM100.00…how about that?

Ahhhh…I love bargains…


Weekend Thai Fest @ Atria Shopping Centre...

Update (9 Mar): The fair's going to be at Atria until 9th April...yay!! :)

There's a Thai Fest going on at the Atria Shopping Centre in Damansara Jaya today and tomorrow (8th-9th March) where they've actually brought in Thai vendors to sell their wares. I was there earlier today - they have some nice clothes on sale (a few actually cheaper than if you were to go to Bangkok and buy), so do hop over there to take a look before it's gone...

Also, if your stomach's in the mood for Thai, some of the vendors have set up a food stall selling authentic Thai fare such as tom yam and mango / papaya kerabu salad (aka. som tham). I got a chance to try a packet of battered fried mini shrimp (you can eat the entire shrimp, head and all!) and it's REALLY good...I kid you not. Crispy and

Also bought a top from there (and this is coming from someone who goes to Bangkok every year to shop) for a bargain whaddya waiting for?

Have a good weekend!


Friday, 7 March 2008

Cats Whiskers – New Arrivals…

Cats Whiskers has got their new arrivals in town! :)

(click on images for larger versions)

Personal Note: I’m liking the look of the round collar dress (RM59) and the full lace tube dress (RM79) a whole lot…and there’s one just near my house – no prizes for guessing where I’ll be this weekend!

Cats Whiskers is located at:-
Sri Hartamas : 34-1, 1st Floor, Jln 27/70A, Desa Sri Hartamas, Kuala Lumpur (above Pills & Potions Pharmacy) Tel: 2300 1264
Damansara Perdana : 22-2, 1st Floor, Jln PJU 8/5G, Damansara Perdana, Petaling Jaya (opposite The Place) Tel: 7728 5662
Bangsar : 7-1, 1st Floor, Jln Telawi 2, Bangsar Baru, Kuala Lumpur (opposite La Bodega) Tel: 2282 7317
Subang Jaya : 32A, 1st Floor, Jln SS15/4D, Subang Jaya (above Pressto) Tel: 5638 3520
Damansara Utama : 52M, 1st Floor, Jln SS21/58, Damansara Utama (opposite RHB Bank, same row as Baskin Robbins) Tel: 7710 5217


Thursday, 6 March 2008

VO5 Silky Smooth Silk Serum…

VO5 has long been known for their range of hair care products, and this one is no different…

The VO5 Silky Smooth Silk Serum – a leave-in conditioner, best suited for dry or frizzy hair (like mine)

V05 Silky Smooth Silk Serum features a patented Vitasilk technology that works deep within the hair to reduce frizz and enhance shine, this grease-free, leave-in cream formula also works to protect hair during heat styling. May be used to add moisture and definition to curls or tame hair for a super-smooth, straight and silky finish.

How to use:
Apply to towel dry hair as required. Smooth through to the ends. Do not rinse out. Style as usual. If extra frizz control is needed, use on dry hair. For best results, use with VO5 Silky Smooth shampoo and conditioner.

The Verdict:
My hair is not exactly the world’s most manageable mane – it’s dry at the ends, and oily at the roots. However, this serum actually made it look healthier (for actual results, I’ll have to pay a visit to my hairdresser to chop off the split ends!). I’ve gotten some nice comments about my hair when using it, even from guys (and you know how often guys notice when we try something new).

The fragrance is similar to that of the other VO5 products, although if you’re a bit free-handed with the serum, you’ll end up smelling like you bathed in the stuff – a bit overkill. Also, locally, the price is a bit steep after conversion (probably cheaper to get it in Singapore or Australia – I got mine in Singapore).

VO5 Silky Smooth Silk Serum comes in bottles of 150ml, available at most leading pharmacies and participating salons.

Rating: 3.5 / 5
Value: $$


The Body Shop 2008 National Make-up Competition...

Just got an invitation to The Body Shop’s 2008 National Make-up Competition in the mail – should be interesting as they haven’t done an event similar to this before (or maybe I just haven’t heard about it in the news)…anyhow, I’m actually allowed to bring a couple of friends along on my invite – one’s already said yes, so still got space for one more…anyone?

Will give you guys an update after the show… :D Looking forward to it - makeup demos and tips, goodie bags (translated: more products to try!)...what's not to like?

Wednesday, 5 March 2008

Mid-week Drinks…

For those of you just looking to get a quick (legal!) fix to get you through the rest of this week, how about giving one of these mixers a try? ** :D (I personally like the Mai Tai…)

** drink responsibly!!